





The Department of Materials Engineering, IISc The ASM International Bengaluru Chapter and The Indian Institute of Metals Bengaluru Chapter

Cordially invite you

For the Technical Lecture on

" Materials Failure Analysis "

by

Dr. Frederick E. Schmidt, Jr President, ASM International

&

Director of Technology, Advanced Applied Services Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

Date : Monday, October 8, 2018

Time : 3.30 p.m.

Venue : Lecture Theatre, Department of Materials Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru-12

High Tea : 4.30 p.m.

Speaker Biosketch:

Dr. Frederick E. Schmidt, Jr., P.E., FASM has a Ph.D. and M.S. in Materials Science and Engineering from Drexel University, and a B.S. in Metallurgical Engineering from Drexel Institute of Technology. He was commissioned in the U.S. Army in 1968. He served for 12 years in various command positions, as a combat qualified reserve officer, retiring as Captain in the Corps of Engineers, 1980.

Dr. Schmidt was employed by DuPont from 1972 to 1993 as an R&D coordinator of inter-department projects at the Experimental Station, Wilmington, DE. He was appointed a research fellow in 1989 in recognition of his creative solutions to proprietary electronic and materials processing quality control issues. Later, he served as Chief Metallurgist for Remington Arms, a subsidiary of E.I. DuPont De Nemours. He designed and specified all materials, coatings and processes for advanced weapons, i.e., Navy SEALs, sniper firearms, commercial products, and ammunition optimization for the U.S. Army.

Dr. Schmidt retired in 2015 after 17 years as a senior managing consultant at Engineering Systems, Inc. He served as Technical Director of Materials Engineering at ESI for many years. He was responsible for a very broad professional engineering practice which used interdisciplinary teamwork with clients and other experts while working to solve complex "mission impossible" problems.

Dr. Schmidt is a Fellow of ASM International; he received the ASM International Allan Ray Putnam Service Award in 1991 and the William Hunt Eisenman Award in 2015.